The Western School District includes Southeastern Labrador, all of the Northern Peninsula, Deer Lake-White Bay, Corner Brook-Bay of Islands, Stephenville, south to Port aux Basques, and Francois on the south coast. The District is governed by a 15 member elected board of trustees, with representation from Labrador South to the Southwest Coast. 

The district administrative team is led by the Director of Education and Assistant Directors’ of Education for each of three divisions: Programs, Human Resources, and Finance/Administration. The District central office is located in Corner Brook with regional offices in Lower Cove and Stephenville.  

The Western School District consists of 65 schools, approximately 11,400 students, and employs approximately 2200 staff. Of these, approximately 1520 are permanent employees, and the remaining work in substitute, temporary, or call in capacity.

Quick Links